Etats-Unis

Membre du Comité de pilotage de la Coalition mondiale

Witness to Innocence

La mission de l’ONG Witness to Innocence (WTI, "la parole aux innocents") est de réunir les condamnés à mort innocentés aux Etats-Unis et leurs proches pour qu’ils deviennent une force puissante pour la justice sociale et la réforme.

WTI cherche à abolir la peine de mort, à réformer le système de justice pénale des États-Unis pour empêcher les erreurs judiciaires, et assurer une juste compensation financière et des services sociaux pour tous les innocentés des couloirs de la mort américains.

WTI rassemble des condamnés à mort innocentés aux Etats-Unis et leurs proches pour qu’ils se soutiennent mutuellement et créent un espace de guérison à la suite de leur expérience dans les couloirs de la mort. WTI participe à des marches, des rassemblements et des conférences. En outre, les condamnés à mort innocentés de WRI interviennent devant des auditoires à travers le pays pour raconter leurs histoires, et sensibiliser au sujet de la peine de mort. Dans les Etats clés, les partenaires de WTI travaillent avec des organisations locales contre la peine de mort et leur offrent un soutien pour leur permettre d’atteindre leurs objectifs.

Date de création

2005             

Type de structure

ONG             

Membre du Comité de pilotage de la Coalition mondiale

Contact

1501 Cherry Street
PA 19102 Philadelphia
Pennsylvanie
Téléphone (+267) 519-4585
Fax (+888) 317-2704

Actualités

United States

World Coalition Steering Committee member

Witness to Innocence

The mission of Witness to Innocence (WTI) is to unite U.S. exonerated death row survivors and their loved ones to become a powerful force for social justice and transformation.

WTI seeks to abolish the death penalty, to reform the U.S. criminal justice system to prevent wrongful convictions, and to secure fair financial compensation and social services for all U.S. exonerated death row survivors.

WTI brings together U.S. exonerated death row survivors and their loved ones to provide mutual peer support and to nurture a community of healing in the aftermath of the death row experience. WTI participates in marches, rallies, freedom rides and conferences. Further, our exonerees speak before audiences throughout the country tell their stories, and to raise awareness about the death penalty. In key states, WTI partners work with local death penalty abolitionist organizations and provides support to enable them to meet their goals.

Date founded

2005             

Structure type

NGO             

World Coalition Steering Committee member

Contact informations

1501 Cherry Street
PA 19102 Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
Phone (+267) 519-4585
Fax (+888) 317-2704

Resources

Document(s)

I Spent A Day With Death Row Survivors

By Anthony Padilla, on 1 January 2020


2020

Multimedia content

United States


More details See the document

Anthony Padilla interviewed 4 death row survivors to shed light on sentencing innocent people to death for a crime they did not commit. Derrick Jamison, Nick Yarris, Peter Pringle and Sunny Jacobs spent between 15 and 23 years awaiting executions, before being finally released from death row.

  • Document type Multimedia content
  • Countries list United States

News