World Coalition welcomes the success of its 15th General Assembly


By World Coalition Against the Death Penalty, on 8 September 2017

On the 24th of June at 9.30 am, members of the World Coalition met for their ordinary General Assembly at the written invitation of the President, in conformity with the provisions of Article 7.1 of the bylaws.

The General Assembly elected the following organisations to the Steering Committee for two years (2017-2019):
1.      Advocates for Human Rights
2.      Anti-Death Penalty Asia Network
3.      Barreau de Paris
4.      Coalition Marocaine Contre la Peine de Mort
5.      Coalition tunisienne contre la peine de mort
6.      Colegio de Abogados y Abogadas de Puerto Rico
7.      Communità di Sant’Egidio
8.      Culture pour la Paix et la Justice
9.      Death Penalty Focus
10.    Death Penalty Project
11.    Ensemble contre la peine de mort
12.    FIACAT
13.    FIDH
14.    Iran Human Rights
15.    Journey of Hope
16.    Murder Victims’ Families for Human Rights
17.    Reprieve Australia
18.    Réseaux d’alerte et d’intervention pour les droits de l’Homme
19.    SYNAFEN
20.    Taiwan Aliance to End the Death Penalty

The statutory meeting also saw the adoption of the 2016 accounts and balance sheet, the 2016 activity report, the provisional budget and orientation report for 2017 as well as a modification of the By-Laws.

The newly elected Steering Committee then proceeded to the election of a new Executive Board, now composed of:
–       Kevin Rivera Medina (Colegio de Abogados y Abogadas de Puerto Rico) as President
–       Annemarie Pieters (Communità di Sant’Egidio) as Vice-president
–       Amy Bergquist (Adocates for Human Rights) as Vice-president
–       Abdellah Mouseddad (Moroccan Coalition) as Vice-president
–       Guillaume Colin (FIACAT) as Treasurer

The World Coalition welcomes the success of its General Assembly.

More articles